▶ Ø (Mika Vainio) – Kantamoinen [2LP]


音樂家/樂團:Ø (Mika Vainio)
廠牌:Boomkat Editions

芬蘭極簡電子先驅Mika Vainio 1999-2004間所錄製的作品,vinyl版首度面世



Boomkat Editions are dead happy to present a (slightly reshuffled) vinyl version for one of our favourite Mika Vainio (Pan Sonic) albums; originally recorded between 1999-2004 and issued on CD only under his revered Ø alias for Finland’s Sähkö Recordings in 2005.

Kantamoinen is perhaps the most intimately beautiful yet little known LP in the Ø canon, bridging the gap between his classic ‘90s minimal techno productions – compiled in the vital Metri and Olento collections – and the project’s subsequent turn to more ambient, kosmic and dub wise dimensions in the coolly brilliant Oleva and Konstellaatio albums.

Upon original release it was an immediate favourite of ours – a go-to disc for hazy daydreaming and post-club head salvage alike, drifting between iced out instrumental rhythms and chasmic spaces interspersed with moments of indelibly heart-rending melody that have clearly lodged in the memory ever since.

Taking in 16 tracks in just under 50 minutes, it’s notable for including a number of exquisitely succinct – or tantalisingly short – glimpses of Vainio at his sweetest,
even sentimental, especially with the breathtaking Tuulessa / In Wind and the frosted harmonies of Talven Henki / Winter Spirit, as well as the rare appearance of vocals (the voice of Oskar Sala recorded by Hans Ulrich Obrist) in the armchair transportation of Äänikuva / Sound Picture.

Vacillating poignant emotive clarity with forlorn abstraction, this expansion and contraction between deep, wide and relatively longer-form pieces, and a high frequency of shorter, starry-eyed passages, lends the album a more broken, strangely resolved flow than many other Mika Vainio records, and with a twinkling lustre that refocuses the ear with an ancient yet timeless sort of depth perception and atemporal appeal.

It’s an often sublime and necessary addition to any collection of classic ambient electronica and a firm reminder of Mika Vainio’s full spectrum electronic dominance and purity.


A1. Galaksit / Galaxies
A2. Miekkakala / Swordfish
A3. Antenni-muurahais / Antenna-ant
A4. Nakinkengat / Shells

B1. Aanikuva / Sound Picture
B2. Kertomus Kaukomailta / Tale From Farawaylands
B3. Aallonmurtaja / Breakwave
B4. Talven Henki / Winter Spirit

C1. Poseidon
C2. Monneista Viimeinen / Last Of Catfishes
C3. Aurinkokala / Sunfish
C4. Tuulessa / In Wind

D1. Kesamaa / Summerland
D2. Yohalla / Night Frost
D3. Ensimmainen Valo / First Light
D4. Kotiin / To Home




WordPress.com 標誌

您的留言將使用 WordPress.com 帳號。 登出 /  變更 )

Google+ photo

您的留言將使用 Google+ 帳號。 登出 /  變更 )

Twitter picture

您的留言將使用 Twitter 帳號。 登出 /  變更 )


您的留言將使用 Facebook 帳號。 登出 /  變更 )


連結到 %s